Units of Competency Ask a Question Express Interest See All Available Hospitality Quals

What’s it about?

This qualification reflects the role of commercial cooks who use a wide range of cookery skills. They use discretion and judgement and have a sound knowledge of kitchen operations. They work with some independence and under limited supervision and may provide operational advice and support to team members.

What job could it help me get

This qualification provides a pathway to work as a commercial cook in organisations such as restaurants, hotels, clubs, pubs, cafes, cafeterias, and coffee shops.

Possible job title:

  • cook

Then what?

Preferred pathways for candidates considering this qualification include:
This qualification is suitable for VET in Schools (VETiS) delivery and for an Australian Apprenticeship pathway.

Pathways into the qualification
Individuals may enter SIT30816 Certificate III in Commercial Cookery with limited or no vocational experience and without a lower level qualification.

Pathways from the qualification
After achieving SIT30816 Certificate III in Commercial Cookery, individuals could progress to SIT40516 Certificate IV in Commercial Cookery, SIT40616 Certificate IV in Catering Operations or SIT40716 Certificate IV in Patisserie.

What needs to be completed?

25 units must be completed:

21 core units

4 elective units, consisting of:

  • 4 units from the Units of Competency document, elsewhere in SIT Training Package, or any other current Training Package or accredited course.

The selection of electives must be guided by the job outcome sought, local industry requirements and the complexity of skills appropriate to the AQF level of this qualification.

Okay, so how do I do it?

Option One: One-on-One Training
You can have the training as an individual. This allows you to have the training delivered at your own pace in a timeframe that suits you. We come to you and deliver training that fits into your work/life requirements. All assessments are completed at a pace that suits your needs.

Option Two: Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
If you’ve had lots of experience in this industry or similar in the past, you may be eligible for RPL. Recognition of Prior Learning means that you don’t require training. Instead, you just need to be assessed on each unit. You will need to draw on all your past experiences so that you can demonstrate that you have already acquired the knowledge and skills. You may be eligible for some units through the RPL process whilst other units may require some training.

Engaging Industry and Employers

In developing the units for this qualification, Work Skills seek feedback from industry and employers to ensure the qualification will address industry trends and changes. This is completed through one on one meeting, group industry meetings and attending trade reference group meetings.

Individual training plans can be customised to the employer and student requirements; however, it is important to ensure industry trends and changes are taken into account when initially developing units of competency and training programs.


Units of Competency Ask a Question Express Interest See All Available Hospitality Quals