Units of Competency Ask a Question Express Interest See All Available Hospitality Quals

What’s it about?

This qualification reflects the role of those individuals working in catering operations who use a range of cookery skills. They use discretion and judgement and have a sound knowledge of kitchen operations. They work with some independence and under limited supervision and may provide operational advice and support to team members. This qualification does not reflect the skills required by commercial cooks. Those skills are reflected in SIT30816 Certificate III in Commercial Cookery.

What job could it help me get

This qualification provides a pathway to work in various catering settings such as hospitals and aged care facilities, sporting and entertainment venues, hotel banqueting departments, cook–chill production kitchens and mobile catering businesses of varying size.

Possible job titles include:

  • catering assistant
  • cook
  • food service assistant

Then what?

Pathways into the qualification
Individuals may enter SIT30916 Certificate III in Catering Operations with limited or no vocational experience and without a lower level qualification

Pathways from the qualification
After achieving SIT30916 Certificate III in Catering Operations, individuals could progress to SIT40616 Certificate IV in Catering Operations.

What needs to be completed?

21 units must be completed:

12 core units

9 elective units, consisting of:

  • 1 unit from Group A
  • 3 units from Group A or Group B and
  • 5 units from Group B, Group C, elsewhere in SIT Training Package, or any other current Training Package or accredited course.

The selection of electives must be guided by the job outcome sought, local industry requirements and the complexity of skills appropriate to the AQF level of this qualification.

Okay, so how do I do it?

Option One: One-on-One Training
You can have the training as an individual. This allows you to have the training delivered at your own pace in a timeframe that suits you. We come to you and deliver training that fits into your work/life requirements. All assessments are completed at a pace that suits your needs.

Option Two: Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
If you’ve had lots of experience in this industry or similar in the past, you may be eligible for RPL. Recognition of Prior Learning means that you don’t require training. Instead, you just need to be assessed on each unit. You will need to draw on all your past experiences so that you can demonstrate that you have already acquired the knowledge and skills. You may be eligible for some units through the RPL process whilst other units may require some training.


Units of Competency Ask a Question Express Interest See All Available Hospitality Quals